The Cross-Border Biotech Blog

Biotechnology, Health and Business in Canada, the United States and Worldwide

Tag Archives: Gairdner Wightman Award

2010 Gairdner Award Winners Announced

This year’s Gairdner Award winners were announced this week.  The Gairdners are a fantastic Canadian contribution to the world of medical research, with seventy-three Gairdner winners over the past 50 years also becoming Nobel laureates.  Here is this year’s batch:

The Gairdner International Award winners:

  • William A. Catterall Ph.D., Department of Pharmacology, University of Washington Seattle, “for discovery of the voltage-gated sodium channel and calcium channel proteins and the elucidation  of their function and regulation.”
  • Pierre Chambon M.D., Institut de genetique et de biologie moleculaire et cellulaire, France, “for the elucidation of fundamental mechanisms of transcription in animal cells and to the discovery of the nuclear receptor superfamily.”
  • William G. Kaelin Jr. M.D., Dana-Farber Cancer Center and Howard Hughes Medical Institute,  Peter J. Ratcliffe M.D., University of Oxford, and Gregg L. Semenza M.D., Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins Institute for Cell Engineering, each “for identification of molecular mechanisms of oxygen sensing in the cell

The Gairdner Wightman Award, given to a Canadian who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in medicine and medical science, will be given to Cal Stiller C.M., O.Ont., M.D.,  Professor Emeritus, University Western Ontario & Chair, Ontario Institute for Cancer Research “for his pioneering work in transplantation and diabetes, and as a remarkable entrepreneur  and builder of  private and public institutions that have greatly enriched the research landscape of  Canada.”

The Global Health Award, in its second year at the Gairdners, will go to Nicholas White, M.D. D.Sc., Mahidol Oxford Tropical Medicine Research Unit, Faculty of Tropical Medicine, Bangkok “for his definitive clinical studies on the effectiveness of artemesinins in the treatment of malaria and elucidating the basis for the use of ACT to prevent resistance.”

Congratulations to all the winners!

Bookmark and Share

2009 Gairdner Award Winners Announced

This year’s Gairdner International Award winners:

  • Shinya Yamanaka, for making pluripotent stem cells from epidermal somatic tissue;
  • Lucy Shapiro of Stanford University and Richard Losick of Harvard University for their research on how bacteria grow, divide or become dormant; and
  • Kazutoshi Mori of Kyoto University and Peter Walter of the University of California for their work on protein folding.

The inaugural Global Health Award will go to Nubia Munoz, emeritus professor of the National Cancer Institute in Colombia, for work that led to developing cervical cancer vaccines; and

The Gairdner Wightman Award, given to a Canadian who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in medicine and medical science, will be given to Dr. David Sackett “for his leadership in the fields of clinical epidemiology and evidence-based medicine.”

The awards will be presented in Toronto, at the annual symposium, this year from October 28-30. Seventy-three Gairdner winners over the past 50 years have also become Nobel laureates.  Thanks to a $20-million endowment for the Gairdner Foundation from the Canadian government, each recipient this year will get $100,000, compared with the $30,000 prize that each of last year’s winners took home.

Bookmark and Share


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers